ARPPU Average Revenue Per Paying User Calculator & Formula Online Calculator Ultra

This can include offering virtual goods, premium content, subscriptions, or ad-free versions. By understanding the preferences and purchasing behavior of their target audience, businesses can design in-app purchase options and monetization strategies that increase the ARPPU. It is essential to strike a balance between providing value to users and generating sustainable revenue. Let’s consider an example to illustrate the calculation and interpretation of ARPPU. Suppose a mobile gaming company generated a total revenue of $10,000 during a month and had 500 paying users within the same period.

You can also try and get feedback from your whales on how to improve your app or site. Bringing them into the product conversation will make them feel valued and give you feedback from your most important users (win-win!). Because of this revenue structure, user segmentation is vital as marketers must be able to identify and isolate the whales. Doing so also highlights which network or channel they were acquired through, so marketers can focus their efforts on getting the highest return on ad spend (ROAS).

A cohort is a group of users who share similar traits, such as the date of install, geo-location, device type, and so on. By avoiding these pitfalls, your ARPU calculations will be more reliable, providing a truer representation of your business performance. This approach ensures any new data added to the table is automatically included in your ARPU calculations. Targeting tactics help to deliver only the right advertising format to the right user at the right time which helps to ensure the least disruptive experience possible. You can also vary the placement of your ads and see if an interstitial ad is more effective than a banner ad. For an app you can see if native content, which blends into your app’s content, is the least disruptive to user experience and thus better at converting.

Turning non-payers into payers

  • In this model, app owners are dependent on in-app purchases (IAP) and in-app advertising (IAA) to generate revenue.
  • ARPPU is similar to ARPU, obviously, but it measures average revenue per paying user.
  • ARPU is one of the most relied-upon metrics in marketing as it gives an overall picture of how well you’re doing at generating revenues.
  • As brands grow, they will need to be reevaluated consistently to ensure the most optimal structure.

Conversely, ARPPU provides a better understanding of app monetization success by tracking a smaller number of users who contribute the majority of your revenue. This makes it easier to assess the impact of new monetization methods on existing buyers. For example, if you brought in $75,000 last month and had 500 paying users, your ARPPU would be $150. Once you’ve got this number, you can start thinking about how to make it even better. And if you want to acquire and retain users, you should understand their value first. In our previous post, we have already talked about subscription app metrics and KPIs that could help you grow fast in 2022.

Tailoring marketing and sales strategies to target high ARPPU users

Ensure you understand your user segments well and offer a tailor-made package for them. Statista reports that around 97% of apps in the Google Play Store are now free, while for Apple, it’s just over 95%. By keeping users engaged with your brand and constantly improving your offering, you should see lower churn and higher ARPU.

  • A streaming or wellbeing app with a monthly subscription fee will be different again.
  • In-app purchases and monetization strategies are commonly used in mobile apps and games to generate revenue.
  • To see the full picture, you need to look at ARPU alongside other SaaS metrics, notably customer and revenue numbers in real terms.
  • Average revenue per paying user, commonly called ARPPU, refers to the projected amount of revenue a single paying user will generate for an app within a certain time period.

Related metrics for ARPU

For example, if someone’s always buying a certain product, suggest a bundle deal or a discount on something similar. In this article, we’ll tell you everything you need to know about these crucial metrics. ARPU is a valuable directional measure to consider for gaming budget allocation.

For example, if you have an MRR of $7,500 and you have a total of 30 users, then your ARPU is $250. This is an important distinction — especially if a business is charging by user — as there can be multiple users per account. Learn average CTR performance for retail, healthcare, tech, finance, and more industries. Use data to figure out what they want and tailor your offers to match.

arppu formula

It’s easier to focus on revenue without the noise of the non-paying majority. Consider what new features, services, or complementary products you can build into your future product strategy to help bring in and retain your customers and users. Many consumer-based businesses track by the user (think Netflix, Spotify) along with telecom and mobile companies. These ARPUs are far lower than a SaaS-based subscription service, as seen by this chart from Monday Note.

Formula for Average Revenue Per Paying User

Some chose to think of ARPPU as a measure of active users, but it’s literally a measure of active payers. Average Revenue per User (ARPU) is a bit like finding the golden ratio for businesses. It’s a financial metric that provides us with the average revenue generated per user or customer over a specified time period.

arppu formula

Segmentation Analysis

If you’ve read our ARPA glossary term, then you likely understand why tracking revenue on a more granular level is important. Not only is it a key indicator of profitability and growth, but it can also be the missing piece to truly understanding your customers. For example, Asana, the popular project management and productivity tool, charges per user for use of its tool. The large majority of subscription-based businesses track ARPU, especially if the company is charging for the product or service by user.

High-growth businesses often analyze both to balance day-to-day agility with long-term vision. Identify and segment your customers based on relevant criteria, such as demographics, behavior, preferences, needs, or goals. You can use tools such as surveys, analytics, or customer feedback to collect and analyze data on your customers and group them into meaningful segments. Average revenue generated per user who makes at least one purchase in a given period. ARPPU enables businesses to compare their performance with industry benchmarks, providing a useful benchmarking tool.

ARPPU (Average Revenue Per Paying User) Calculator

Always ensure data accuracy and consistency for reliable ARPU metrics. Ensure that the revenue data is up-to-date, free from duplicates, and reconciled against other financial records. The user count should be regularly audited to exclude inactive or non-paying users that could skew the ARPU downwards. Implement strict validation rules within your data collection processes and consider using automated systems to reduce the risk of human error.

The Average Revenue Per User (ARPU) quantifies the amount of revenue generated on average from each customer. The implied ARPU can be calculated by dividing the total amount of revenue generated by the company by the total number of users (i.e. customers). To solve this, Singular collects and attributes revenue data including in-app purchases, ad revenue, and subscriptions. As many advertisers know, one of the most challenging parts of revenue attribution is determining the original source and campaign of each paying customer.

Reacheffect® is arppu formula a world-leading web and mobile advertising platform, providing a distribution channel to advertisers and a monetization solution for publishers. Discover affiliate strategies and tools that help you stay compliant while scaling profitable campaigns. Now that you know the difference, let’s find out how to calculate the measure. In this article, we’ll uncover the difference between ARPPU and ARPU and find out how to calculate and increase ARPPU.

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